College of American Pathologists
Printable Version

  Leadership Development Award Winners





Updated April 5, 2013

The CAP Foundation Board of Directors is pleased to announce the following recipients:

Winners of the CAP Foundation Young Leader Award***
***Effective January 2007, winners will receive a Leadership Development Award.

2012 Award Recipients

  • Melissa Austin, MD, University of Washington Medical Center, Seattle
  • Feriyl Bhaijee, MD, University of Mississippi, Jackson
  • Olesksandr Kryvenko, MD, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore
  • Shelly I. Odronic, MD, Cleveland Clinic, Ohio

2011 Award Recipients

  • Ranjana Arora, MBBS, MD, MPH, University of Kentucky, Lexington

2010 Award Recipients

  • William D. Bishop, DO, Los Angeles County and University of Southern California
  • Gaurav Sharma, MD, University of Pittsburgh
  • Roseann I. Wu, MD, MPH, Massachusetts General Hospital

2009 Award Recipients

  • Sara Cuadra Acree, MD, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA
  • Smita Krishnamurthy, MD, Washington University Medical Center, St. Louis, MO
  • Nicole DeMers Riddle, MD, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
  • Alma R. Reyes-Trocchia, MD, William Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, MI

2008 Award Recipients

  • Robert M. Najarian, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA
  • Leo Niemeier, MD, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, MI
  • Gerard Oakley, MD, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Lori Ryan, MD, MPH, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

2007 Award Recipients

  • Elizabeth Anne Kuhls, MD, Naval Medical Center, San Diego, CA
  • Nikolaj Paul Lagwinski, MD, Cleveland Clinic Foundation
  • Christine Nelsen, MD, University of St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
  • Bernadette M. Widemore, MD, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital

2006 Young Leader Awardees

  • Diana Marcella Cardona, MD, University of Florida
  • Matthew David Carr, MD, Indiana Univ School of Medicine
  • Nicole Catherine Prall, MD, Indiana University Medical Center

2005 Young Leader Awardees:

  • Jorge Enrique Dotto, MD, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Sean MacDonald Hussey, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Andrew Norbert Hoofnagle, MD, PhD, University of Washington School of Medicine

2004 Young Leader Awardees:

  • Shannon McCall, MD, Duke University
  • M. Rajan Mariappan, MD, PhD, Stanford University
  • Deepak Mohan, MD, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
  • Calvino Ka-Wing Cheng, MD, University of Alberta

2003-4 Young Leader Awardees:

  • Michelle Barry, MD (Iowa City)
  • Becky Van Ells, MD (Charleston, SC)

2003 Young Leader Awardee:

  • Teresa Cox, MD, Naval Medical Center-San Diego
  • James Thomas Molina, MD, PhD, FCAP, University of Pittsburgh

2001-2002 Young Leader Awardees:

  • Natalie Depcik-Smith, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Walter Linz, MD, University of Florida

Fall 2000 Young Leader Awardees:

  • Lora A. Darrisaw, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas
  • Ellen C. Riemer, MD, JD, Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center, New York, NY


Special thanks to the following friends of the Foundation who have made gifts and pledges for this award:

Cristina R. Antonescu, MD
John M. Averyt, MD
William J. Becker, DO, MPH
Richard A. Bernert, MD
Eleni P. Bourtsos, MD
Michael Sean Brown, MD
Michael J. Carey, MD
E. Randy Eckert, MD
Stacey Lynne Garry, MD
Jan S. Glas
Gene N. Herbek, MD
Gordon L. Johnson, MD
Rebecca L. Johnson, MD
Catherine A. Mazzei, MD
Philip W. McGuire, MD
Suzanne S. Mirra, MD
John C. Neff, MD
Janet E. Roepke, MD,PhD
Maurice J. Schuetz III,, MD
Jared N. Schwartz, MD,PhD
Richard A. Schwartz, MD
Susan E. Wheaton, MD
J. Daniel Wilkes, MD
Robert Allen Zaring, MD
Harry J. Zemel, MD