College of American Pathologists
Printable Version

  CAP annual stated meeting





cap today

October 2005
Feature Story

Sept. 10, 2005
Chicago, Ill.

Call to order. President Mary E. Kass, MD, called to order the annual stated meeting of the College of American Pathologists at 9:20 AM, Sept. 10, 2005, in the Sheraton Hotel, Chicago, Ill. Also presiding were president-elect Thomas M. Sodeman, MD, and secretary-treasurer Jared N. Schwartz, MD, PhD.

Minutes. Dr. Schwartz rose to read the minutes of the last meeting. It was moved, seconded, and carried to dispense with the reading and approve the minutes of the Sept. 18, 2004 business meeting of the College of American Pathologists as published in the November 2004 issue of CAP TODAY.

CAPawards and honors. Dr. Kass presented the William L. Kuehn Outstanding Communicator Award to Gene N. Herbek, MD, for his exceptional efforts in presenting and enhancing the image of pathologists through his work as a CAP spokesperson.

  • The Frank W. Hartman, MD, Memorial Award was awarded to William R. Dito, MD, in recognition of his service to the CAP Board of Governors. In addition, Dr. Dito was instrumental in the development and design of the CAP Web site through his involvement in many CAP committees, such as the Information Science and Technology Committee (ISTC), Internet Editorial Board, and Informatics Committee. Furthermore, Dr. Dito’s leadership as chair of the ISTC was vital to the launch of e-LAB Solutions.
  • The Frank C. Coleman Award for Public Service was presented to Richard J. Hausner, MD, to honor his exceptional service in helping the College meet its legislative goals. Dr. Hausner served as a CAP governor. Notably, his service on the CAP Political Action Committee and the Council on Government and Professional Affairs has helped lead the advocacy efforts of the College.
  • Dr. Kass expressed gratitude to individuals she personally se lected to receive the President’s Honors. The names of the recipients were displayed and pictures were to be taken after the meeting.

CAP Foundation awards. Thomas P. Wood, MD, president of the CAP Foundation, presented the following Foundation awards: the CAP Foundation 2005 Lansky Award to James Versalovic, MD, PhD, and the CAP Foundation 2005 Humanitarian Award to John Reed Benziger, MD. Dr. Kass recognized Thomas P. Wood, MD, with an appreciation plaque for his five years of service and dedication as the CAP Foundation president.

Necrology report. Dr. Schwartz called attention to the necrology report that was distributed to audience members. Dr. Schwartz asked everyone to stand for a moment of silence in remembrance of CAP members who have recently passed away as well as those recently affected by Hurricane Katrina.

CAPvoting results. Dr. Kass reported that the winners of the CAP election for the four open governor positions are as follows:

• Stephen N. Bauer, MD • James A. Robb, MD
• Jay F. Schamberg, MD • Louis D. Wright Jr., MD

In addition, Jared N. Schwartz, MD, PhD, was elected as the new president-elect. Dr. Kass swore these members into office.

Recognition of retiring Board members. Retiring governor Harry J. Zemel, MD, was presented with a plaque of appreciation and past governor pin for his seven years of service. Retiring governor Stanley J. Robboy, MD, was presented with a plaque of appreciation and past governor pin for his six years of service. Dr. Schwartz was recognized for his five years of service as secretary-treasurer with an appreciation plaque, pin, and gift.

Other business and adjournment. Dr. Kass called for old business and new business to come before the College membership meeting. Hearing none, she adjourned this stated meeting of the College at 9:45 AM.