College of American Pathologists
CAP Committees & Leadership CAP Calendar of Events Estore CAP Media Center CAP Foundation
About CAP    Career Center    Contact Us      
Search: Search
  [Advanced Search]  
CAP Home CAP Advocacy CAP Reference Resources and Publications CAP Education Programs CAP Accreditation and Laboratory Improvement CAP Members
CAP Home > CAP Reference Resources and Publications > CAP TODAY > CAP TODAY 2005 Archive > Cap Elections
Printable Version

  CAP Elections





cap today

October 2005
Feature Story

Thomas M. Sodeman, MD, was installed as the 29th president of the CAP in a ceremony at CAP ’05 in Chicago in September, and Jared N. Schwartz, MD, PhD, was elected and sworn in as president-elect.

Dr. Sodeman is chairman of laboratory medicine at North Shore-LIJ Health System, Lake Success, NY. Dr. Schwartz is the former chief of the medical staff and current director of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Presbyterian HealthCare, Charlotte, NC.

Ronald B. Lepoff, MD, head of the section of clinical pathology in the Department of Pathology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, Denver, was elected by the Board of Governors to fill the secretary-treasurer position for the remainder of Dr. Schwartz’s unexpired term.

On the Board of Governors, Louis D. Wright Jr., MD, of Pathology Service Associates, Florence, SC, and James A. Robb, MD, of Integrated Regional Laboratories, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., were elected to serve a first term until fall 2008. Stephen N. Bauer, MD, of Mercy San Juan Hospital, Carmichael, Calif., was elected to a second three-year term. Jay F. Schamberg, MD, of ACL Laboratories, Milwaukee, was elected to a first term on the Board after having filled the two-year vacancy left by Dr. Sodeman. Gail Habegger Vance, MD, of Indiana University Medical Center, Indianapolis, was appointed to fill Dr. Lepoff’s remaining term until fall 2006.

Vice speaker of the House of Delegates Thomas Joseph Cooper, MD, of Long Beach, Calif., has become speaker of the House, and John D. Milam, MD, of Houston, succeeded Dr. Cooper as vice speaker. Teresa M. Cox, MD, of San Diego, is the new chair of the Residents Forum. All are ex-officio members of the Board of Governors.

The results of the 2005 election were announced Sept. 10 during the annual stated meeting held at CAP ’05 in Chicago.

 © 2014 College of American Pathologists. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions | CAP ConnectFollow Us on FacebookFollow Us on LinkedInFollow Us on TwitterFollow Us on YouTubeFollow Us on FlickrSubscribe to a CAP RSS Feed