College of American Pathologists
Printable Version

  New officer, governors sworn in


cap today



October 2006
Feature Story

Gene N. Herbek, MD
Sidney A. Goldblatt, MD

Andrew E. Horvath, MD, PhD

Thomas M. Wheeler, MD

Gail Habegger Vance, MD

Gene N. Herbek, MD, the CAP’s new secretary-treasurer, and four members of the Board of Governors were sworn in Sept. 9 in a ceremony during CAP ’06 in San Diego.

Sidney A. Goldblatt, MD, was elected to his first three-year term as a governor. Governors Andrew E. Horvath, MD, and Thomas M. Wheeler, MD, were elected to their second three-year terms. And governor Gail Habegger Vance, MD, who was appointed last year to serve the remaining term of governor Ronald B. Lepoff, MD (whom the Board elected at the time to fill the vacant secretary-treasurer post), was elected to a three-year term.

Dr. Herbek, a pathologist at The Pathology Center at Methodist Hospital, Omaha, Neb., is a member of the CAP Practice Management Committee and advisor to the Residents Forum Executive Committee. He served previously as chair of the Council on Public Affairs, Council on Membership and Public Affairs, Ad Hoc Committee on Tissue and Organ Procurement and Distribution, and vice chair of the Council on Scientific Affairs.

He serves as deputy medical examiner for Iowa.

Dr. Goldblatt has been a designer and developer of computer applications for pathology and the clinical laboratory, resulting in the formation of Goldblatt Systems, LLC, where he is the CEO. In addition, he is the medical laboratory director at Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center, Johnstown, Pa., where he also serves as the program director for the pathology residency program. Dr. Goldblatt is a member of the CAP Information Science and Technology Committee and was formerly a member of the CAP SNOMED International Authority.

Andrew E. Horvath, MD, PhD, is chief of pathology at Presbyterian Hospital, Albuquerque, and president of Pathology Associates of Albuquerque, P.A. He serves on the board of directors of Presbyterian Healthcare Services, Albuquerque, and Tricore Reference Laboratories. He is a clinical professor of pathology and medicine, University of New Mexico.

Dr. Horvath is chair of the CAP Risk Management Committee and vice chair of the Council on Government and Professional Affairs.

Thomas M. Wheeler, MD, is an attending pathologist at Ben Taub General Hospital, Houston. At Baylor College of Medicine, he is interim chairman of the Department of Pathology, Harlan J. Spjut, MD, professor of pathology, and professor in the Scott Department of Urology.

Dr. Wheeler is chair of the CAP Council on Scientific Affairs.

Gail Habegger Vance, MD, is a professor in the Departments of Medical and Molecular Genetics and Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at Indiana University School of Medicine. In addition, she is a staff physician at Clarian Hospitals, Wishard Hospital in Indianapolis, Memorial Hospital in South Bend, Ind., and St. Mary’s Hospital in Evansville, Ind.

She is a member of the CAP Council on Scientific Affairs, Council on Accreditation, and Finance Committee.


Related Links Related Links