College of American Pathologists
Printable Version

  CAP annual stated meeting minutes


cap today



October 2006

September 9, 2006
San Diego, CA

Call to order. President Thomas M. Sodeman, MD, called to order the annual stated meeting of the College of American Pathologists at 8:20 AM, Sept. 9, 2006 in the Manchester Grand Hyatt Hotel, San Diego. Also presiding were president-elect Jared N. Schwartz, MD, PhD, and secretary-treasurer Ronald Lepoff, MD.

Minutes Dr. Lepoff rose to read the minutes of the last meeting. It was moved, seconded, and carried to dispense with the reading and approve the minutes of the Sept. 10, 2005 business meeting of the College of American Pathologists as published in the November 2005 issue of CAP TODAY.

CAP awards and honors Dr. Sodeman presented several member awards.

The Laboratory Accreditation Program Service Award, established in honor of Major General Joseph M. Blumberg, is presented annually to an individual who has contributed exceptional service to the College of American Pathologists’ Laboratory Accreditation Program.

This year’s recipient is Hans Peters, MD. Dr. Peters has served the Laboratory Accreditation Program since the early 1970s as the Georgia state commissioner, the Gulf regional commissioner, and the deputy international commissioner. Dr. Peters has performed over 135 inspections and introduced numerous pathologists in the United States and abroad to the Laboratory Accreditation Program.

Dr. Peters has devoted his professional life to the CAP Laboratory Accreditation Program. For years, Dr. Peters’ name and the CAP Laboratory Accreditation Program were nearly synonymous in the Southeast. Now, he is well known in CAP-accredited hospitals around the world.

The CAP Outstanding Service Award established in honor of Frank W. Hartman, MD, is presented annually to an individual who has performed meritorious service to the College. It recognizes a recipient’s contribution to a single CAP program or project, usually over a long period. The 2006 recipient is John Madden, MD.

Dr. Madden is recognized for his years as a member of the SNOMED International Standards Board, including his involvement with the cancer registry community. His service on the board of the U.S. government’s Healthcare Information Technology Standards Panel and his tenure as co-chair of the SNOMED Surgical Pathology Working Group have raised awareness of SNOMED CT throughout the world. He has advanced excellence in patient care through SNOMED CT’s integration into various health care information technology infrastructures.

The CAP Public Service Award in honor of Frank C. Coleman, MD, honors his memory and work as the sixth president of the College of American Pathologists. It is given to a CAP Fellow who best exemplifies the leadership qualities and citizenship of the late Dr. Coleman. The Coleman Award is the College’s highest honor for accomplishments and dedication to public service. This year’s recipient is Mark Synovec, MD.

Dr. Synovec is honored for providing extraordinary leadership to the College’s advocacy efforts through his service on the Council on Government and Professional Affairs, the Economic Affairs Committee, and the American Medical Association House of Delegates.

His dedication to members is evident at his sold-out CPT courses and through his work as a member of the AMA’s CPT Advisory Committee and chair of the Pathology Coding Caucus, where he provides accurate and sound information to CAP members and the AMA’s CPT Editorial Panel.

The CAP Distinguished Service Award is presented to a person who has made outstanding contributions to the practice of pathology and to the College of American Pathologists. This year’s recipient is Eric Glassy, MD.

Dr. Glassy is honored for his extensive contributions to the practice of pathology including his invaluable work on several CAP publications: the Color Atlas of Hematology, the Color Atlas of Hemoglobin Disorders, and the Color Atlas of Body Fluids, in addition to his many years of service to the College as chair of the Publications Committee, chair of the Hematology/Clinical Microscopy Resource Committee, and as a member of the Education Committee.

Dr. Sodeman expressed gratitude to individuals he personally selected to receive the President’s Honors. The names of the recipients were displayed and pictures taken after the Town Hall meeting.

CAP Foundation awards. Rebecca Johnson, MD, president of the CAP Foundation, presented the following Foundation awards: The CAP Foundation 2006 Lansky Award to Jennifer L. Hunt, MD. The CAP Foundation 2006 Humanitarian Award winners were Rosemary Edwards, MD, and Amy M. Sheldon, MD.

Necrology report. Dr. Sodeman called attention to the necrology report that was distributed to audience members. He noted the loss of William R. Dito, MD—past governor and great friend of the College.

Recognition of retiring Board members. Retiring governor John W. Mason, MD, was presented with a plaque of appreciation and past-governor pin for his six years of service. Dr. Lepoff was recognized for his year as secretary-treasurer with an appreciation plaque and pin. In addition, Mary E. Kass, MD, immediate past president, and Theresa M. Cox, MD, outgoing chair of the Residents Forum, were thanked for their service.

CAP voting results. Dr. Sodeman reported that the winners of the CAP election for the four open governor positions are as follows:

  • Sidney A. Goldblatt, MD
  • Andrew E. Horvath, MD
  • Gail Habegger Vance, MD
  • Thomas M. Wheeler, MD

The newly elected secretary-treasurer is Gene N. Herbek, MD.

Other business and adjournment. Dr. Sodeman called for old business and new business to come before the College membership meeting. Hearing none, he adjourned this stated meeting of the College at 9 AM.


bullet Related Links