College of American Pathologists
Printable Version

  New CAP officers take their places




November 2007
Feature Story

The CAP has a new president and president-elect and three new members of its Board of Governors, all of whom assumed their duties last month during CAP '07. Two other governors began their second three-year terms.

Jared N. Schwartz, MD, PhD, director of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Presbyterian Healthcare, Charlotte, NC, became the CAP's 30th president. Stephen N. Bauer, MD, laboratory director at Mercy San Juan Medical Center, Carmichael, Calif., and chief financial officer of Path Labs Inc., Carmichael, began a two-year term as president-elect.

Richard C. Friedberg, MD, PhD, chair of the Department of Pathology at Baystate Health, Springfield, Mass., and Paul N. Valenstein, MD, president of Pathology and Laboratory Management Associates, Ann Arbor, Mich., began their first three-year terms as governors. The Board of Governors elected William F. Hickey, MD, of the Department of Pathology at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, to fill the governor position for the remainder of Dr. Bauer's term, which will expire next year.

Two governors, Robert L. Breckenridge, MD, and Morton H. Levitt, MD, began their second three-year terms. Dr. Breckenridge is laboratory medical director at North Kansas City Hospital, and Dr. Levitt is clinical professor of biomedical science at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine at the regional Campus at Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton.