College of American Pathologists
Printable Version

  Feature Story


cap today

Votes counted and governors seated

Eight of the great lauded at CAP ’03 annual meeting

October 2003
Anne Ford

Two CAP fellows have been elected to the CAP Board of Governors, three have been re-elected, and Thomas M. Sodeman, MD, has been elected to a two-year term as CAP president-elect.

Andrew E. Horvath, MD, and Thomas M. Wheeler, MD, have been elected to three-year terms as governors, filling the seats vacated by M. Elizabeth Hammond, MD, and Margaret S. Skinner, MD. Re-elected to three-year terms are governors Ronald B. Lepoff, MD, and John W. Mason, MD, as well as secretary-treasurer Jared N. Schwartz, MD, PhD.

The results of the election by mail ballot were announced last month during the CAP ’03 annual meeting in San Diego. The new president-elect and governors assumed their duties Sept. 14.

Dr. Sodeman, who until his election served as a governor, succeeds Mary E. Kass, MD, as president-elect. Dr. Sodeman is chair of laboratory medicine at North Shore-LIJ Health System, Lake Success, NY. He is both a committee and a board member of the Commission on Laboratory Accreditation, as well as chair of the CAP Council on Government and Professional Affairs and a Laboratory Accreditation Program inspector.

At its Sept. 14 meeting, the Board appointed Jay F. Schamberg, MD, to fill the governor position left vacant by Dr. Sodeman’s election. Dr. Schamberg will serve the two years remaining in the term.

New governor Dr. Horvath is chief of pathology at Presbyterian Hospital and clinical professor of pathology and medicine at the University of New Mexico, both in Albuquerque. He is a member of the CAP Council on Scientific Affairs and several CAP committees, among them the Strategic Planning Committee and Finance Committee.

Dr. Wheeler is professor and associate chair of pathology at Baylor College of Medicine and deputy chief of the pathology service at Methodist Hospital, both in Houston. He is a delegate to the CAP House of Delegates, chair of the Federal and State Affairs Committee, and member of the Council on Government and Professional Affairs.

Anne Ford is CAPTODAY senior editor.