College of American Pathologists

  Award Description and Past Recipients


Updated November 28, 2011

CAP Outstanding Service Award Established in Honor of Frank W. Hartman

This award was established in 1977 as the Frank W. Hartman Memorial Award in honor of the first president of the College of American Pathologists. In 2006, the name of the award was changed to the CAP Outstanding Service Award Established in Honor of Frank W. Hartman. MD, FCAP. It is given to a Fellow of the College to recognize outstanding service to a single CAP program, project, or related endeavor; generally over a long period of time. This award is presented when merited, not necessarily annually.

Award RecipientYear
Robert L. Breckenridge, MD, MBA, FCAP2010
Andrew E. Horvath, MD, FCAP2010
Michael L. Talbert, MD, FCAP2009
Francis E. Sharkey, MD, FCAP2008
R. Bruce Williams, MD, FCAP2007
John F. Madden, MD, PhD, FCAP2006
William R. Dito, MD, FCAP2005
Kenneth D. McClatchey, MD, DDS, FCAP2004
Carolyn Compton, MD, FCAP2003
Patrick L. Fitzbibbons, MD, FCAP2002
James D. MacLowry, MD, FCAP2001
John C. Neff, MD, FCAP2000
Kent A. Spackman, MD, FCAP2000
Thomas L. Gavan, MD, FCAP1999
Donald A. Senhauser, MD, FCAP1998
Loyd R. Wagner, MD, FCAP1997
George F. Kwass, MD, FCAP1996
Henry Travers, MD, FCAP1994
Bernard L. Kasten, MD, FCAP1993
William B. Hamlin, MD, FCAP1992
Beverly Balfour Kraemer, MD, FCAP1991
Israel Diamond, MD, FCAP1990
John H. Rippey, MD, FCAP1988
Pierre W. Keitges, MD, FCAP1987
Frank C. Coleman, MD, FCAP1986
J. Scott Pennepacker, MD, FCAP1984
John K. Duckworth, MD, FCAP1982
Eleanor B. Sinton, MD, FCAP1981
Roger K. Gilbert, MD, FCAP1980
Roger A. Cote, MD, FCAP1979
Martin J. Valaske, MD, FCAP1978
Robert Kohaukohl, MD, FCAP1977