College of American Pathologists

  Award Description and Past Recipients


Updated November 28, 2011

Pathologist of the Year

The CAP Pathologist of the Year Award was initiated in 1955 and has been presented annually since then. It is given to a CAP leader for outstanding contributions to the practice of pathology and to the programs of the College, particularly within the preceding five years.

Award RecipientYear
C. Robert Baisden, MD, FCAP2011
Jared N. Schwartz, MD, PhD, FCAP2010
Kevin B. Dole, MD, FCAP2009
Thomas M. Sodeman, MD, FCAP2008
Ronald B. Lepoff, MD, FCAP2007
Mary E. Kass, MD, FCAP2006
M. Elizabeth Hammond, MD, FCAP2005
Paul A. Raslavicus, MD, FCAP2004
Kay Woodruff, MD, FCAP2003
Paul Bachner, MD, FCAP2002
Robert A. Rickert, MD, FCAP2001
Thomas P. Wood, MD, FCAP2000
Stephen N. Bauer, MD, FCAP1999
Raymond C. Zastrow, MD, FCAP1998
Roger A. Cote, MD, FCAP1997
William W. McLendon, MD, FCAP1997
Daniel L. Seckinger, MD, FCAP1996
Thomas D. Trainer, MD, FCAP1995
Donald A. Senhauser, MD, FCAP1994
William B. Hamlin, MD, FCAP1993
Loyd R. Wagner, MD, FCAP1992
John H. Rippey, MD, FCAP1991
William B. Zeiler, MD, FCAP1990
Thomas L. Gavan, MD, FCAP1989
Robert L. Breckenridge, MD, FCAP1988
Milton Simmons, MD, FCAP1987
Herbert Derman, MD, FCAP1986
George D. Lundberg, MD, FCAP1985
Frank Matthews, MD, FCAP1984
Jerald R. Schenken, MD, FCAP1983
Lawrence J. McCormack, MD, FCAP1982
Donald W. Penner, MD, FCAP1981
Tyra T. Hutchens, MD, FCAP1980
Russell S. Fisher, MD, FCAP1979
Marjorie J. Williams, MD, FCAP1978
James D. Barger, MD, FCAP1977
Robert C. Horn, MD, FCAP1976
C.A. McWhorter, MD, FCAP1975
William J. Reals, MD, FCAP1974
A. James French, MD, FCAP1973
Joe M. Blumberg, MG, MC, USA, FCAP1972
Russell J. Eilers, MD, FCAP1971
Oscar B. Hunter, MD, FCAP1970
Dennis B. Dorsey, MD, FCAP1969
Ernest E. Simard, MD, FCAP1968
Ralph M. Hartwell, MD, FCAP1967
Victor B. Buhler, MD, FCAP1966
Frank C. Coleman, MD, FCAP1965
Alan R. Moritz, MD, FCAP1964
Bradley E. Copeland, MD, FCAP1963
F. William Sunderman, MD, PhD, FCAP1962
John R. Schenken, MD, FCAP1961
Israel Davidson, MD, FCAP1960
W.A.D. Anderson, MD, FCAP1959
David A. Wood, MD, FCAP1958
James W. Kernohan, MD, FCAP1957
Arthur Hawley Sanford, MD, FCAP1956
Shields Warren, MD, FCAP1955