College of American Pathologists

  Award Description and Past Recipients


Updated October 28, 2011

CAP Public Service Award Established In Honor of Frank C. Coleman

This award was established as the Frank C. Coleman Award for Public Service in 1989 to honor the memory and work of Frank C. Coleman, MD, sixth president of the College of American Pathologists. In 2006, the name of this award was changed to the CAP Public Service Award Established in Honor of Frank C. Coleman.

This award is given to a Fellow of the College who best exemplifies the political, citizenship, and leadership qualities of the late Doctor Coleman, and is the College’s highest honor for outstanding accomplishments and dedication to political and civic life and to public service in the USA. It is presented when merited, not necessarily annually.

Award RecipientYear
Kathleen A. McMonigal, MD, FCAP2011
Jonathan L. Myles, MD, FCAP2009
George F. Kwass, MD, FCAP2008
Mark S. Synovec, MD, FCAP2006
Richard J. Hausner, MD, FCAP2005
William B. Hamlin, MD, FCAP2001
Pierre W. Keitges, MD, FCAP1994
Jerald R. Schenken, MD, FCAP1989