2018 CAP Meritorious Service Awards Program

The deadline to submit a nomination for our meritorious service awards ended as of March 15, 2018. Award candidates will be invited to accept their awards in person during CAP18 October 20–24, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel in Chicago, Illinois.

Eligibility & Evaluation

  • Currently serving CAP officers, board members, or candidates for any elected CAP office are not eligible for an award nomination.
  • For most awards, an individual or a group of individuals such as a team may be nominated. An individual or a group of individuals may be nominated for more than one award but only recommend one individual or group of individuals per form.
  • Self-nominations or incomplete nominations will not be considered. The CAP reserves the right to consider an individual or group of individuals for an award other than the one designated on the nomination form. Further, the CAP reserves the right to NOT confer an award in any given year.
  • Representatives from each CAP council and the CAP Member Engagement Committee (MEC) will evaluate all nominations and recommend a slate of award candidates to the Board of Governors for its approval in May 2018. The decisions of the Board are final.
  • No information about the nomination evaluation process and/or the nominees can be shared prior to the official notification of the award honorees.

Award Descriptions

CAP Distinguished Patient Care Award

This award, established in 2006, recognizes and honors a member of the College who has made an outstanding contribution to patient care. It recognizes behavior that when emulated enhances the practice of pathology. Nominees must be CAP members.

CAP Distinguished Service Award

This award, established in 1965 (and amended in 2006), recognizes episodic, sustained, or cumulative contributions to the practice of pathology and to the College of American Pathologists that are sufficiently notable and extraordinary as to set the nominee apart from his or her peers. Nominees must be CAP members.

CAP Lifetime Achievement Award

This award, established in 2006, recognizes and honors members of the College who have made a broad and positive impact on the pathology profession through contributions to one or more area(s) of the College over an extended period of time, but who have never received a CAP Meritorious Service Award. This award may be presented to more than one College member in a particular year. Nominees must be CAP members.

CAP Outstanding Communicator Award

This award, established in 1991, recognizes outstanding contributions in the area of communications resulting in the strengthening of the image of pathology. It recognizes efforts to present a positive portrayal of the pathologist and the specialty of pathology through various communication channels. Nominees may be CAP members, non-members, or staff.

CAP Pathology Advancement Award

This award, established in 2013, recognizes innovation and perseverance resulting in the advancement of pathology and laboratory medicine through foresight, resolve and untiring commitment to both evolutionary and revolutionary undertakings that advance the positioning of the pathologist in the House of Medicine and delivery of safer patient care. It recognizes efforts that are neither easy nor obvious; a nominee often will be a "change agent." Nominees may be CAP members, staff, or non-members.

CAP Public Service Award

This award, established in 1989, recognizes accomplishments and dedication to political and civic life and to public service in the United States. Nominees must be CAP Fellows.

CAP Resident of the Year Award

This award was established in 2010 to recognize outstanding contributions by a CAP Junior Member in non-academic areas such as service to the CAP, to patients, and/or to the general public. Deserving CAP Junior Members who are in a pathology residency or fellowship training program at any point during the calendar year in which the award will be conferred, may be nominated by a CAP member.

CAP Staff Outstanding Achievement Award

This award, established in 2014, recognizes CAP staff who have made a significant and positive impact in support of the College and its members, either through one or more noteworthy programs/projects, or a sustained history of going above and beyond in support of the College and its members. Nominations only may be made by CAP members or senior CAP staff (VP and above) and are limited to current staff employed by the CAP at the time of receipt.

CAP Meritorious Service Awards

The College of American Pathologists (CAP) Meritorious Service Awards Program acknowledges outstanding contributions to pathology, pathologists, laboratory medicine, patient care, public service, and the CAP.

CAP Foundation Awards

The CAP Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the College of American Pathologists, offers grants and awards to support patient-centered work by pathologists and resident training and education.

Learn about CAP Foundation Awards and Grants.